

## Equality Objectives

The public sector equality duty has three aims and Kingsway Community Primary School recognise and have due regard when making decisions and developing policies.

- Eliminate discrimination, harassment, victimisation, and other conduct that is prohibited by the Equality Act 2010.
- Advance equality of opportunity between people who share a protected characteristic and people who do not share it.
- Foster good relations across all protected characteristics between people who share a protected characteristic and people who do not share it.

Kingsway Community Primary School will annually review how well we achieve these aims with regards to the protected groups under the Equality Act (age, disability, gender reassignment, marriage and civil partnership, pregnancy and maternity, race, religion or belief, sex, and sexual orientation)

We recognise that every child is a unique individual. We celebrate and welcome differences within our school community. The ability to learn is underpinned by the teaching of basic skills, knowledge, concepts, and values. We constantly provide enhancement opportunities to engage learning and believe that childhood should be a happy, investigative, and enquiring time in our lives where there are no limits to curiosity and there is a thirst for new experiences and knowledge.

We have set the following objectives for the coming year:

- All staff and governors are aware of the current legislation surrounding equality and diversity.
- To observe good equalities practice in staff recruitment, retention, and development.
- To promote mental health and well-being and implement bespoke interventions of support.
- Ensure the curriculum is representative of the community's diverse culture.
- To promote positive attitudes and relationships and a shared sense of cohesion and belonging.

Date adopted by Governors	Spring 2022
Date for policy renewal	Spring 2026
Signed by Headteacher	SByrne
Signed by Chair of Governors	Ratified by EAB